New Protein+ Superfood Blend @ $32!

Whey vs Vegan Protein

Whey Chocolate Smoothie

Whey protein is a mixture of proteins isolated from whey, which is the liquid part of milk that separates during cheese production. 

Whey is found in the watery portion of milk. When cheese is produced, the fatty parts of the milk coagulate and the whey is separated from it as a byproduct. If you've ever opened a yogurt container to see liquid floating on top — that’s whey. Cheesemakers used to discard it before they discovered its commercial value. 

After being separated during cheese production, whey goes through various processing steps to become whey protein powder. 

Whey protein doesn't taste very good on its own, which is why it’s usually flavored. Chocolate and vanilla-flavored powders are popular. It's important to read the ingredients list, as some products may have unhealthy additives like artificial flavours or sweeteners. 

Whey is generally well tolerated, though people with lactose intolerance may need to be careful. 

Types of Whey Protein  

There are three primary types of whey protein; whey protein concentrate (WPC), whey protein isolate (WPI), and whey protein hydrolysate (WPH). 

  • Whey protein concentrate – WPC contains low levels of fat and low levels of carbohydrates. About 70–80% protein; contains some lactose (milk sugar) and has the best flavor.  
  • Whey protein isolate – WPIs are further processed to remove all the fat and lactose. WPI is usually at least 90% protein. 
  • Whey protein hydrolysate – WPH is considered to be the “predigested” form of whey protein as it has already undergone partial hydrolysis – a process necessary for the body to absorb protein. WPH doesn’t require as much digestion as the other two forms of whey protein. WPH is commonly used in medical protein supplements and infant formulas because of it’s improved digestibility and reduced allergen potential. 

Vegan Protein: An Alternative 

Vegan Protein Smoothie

Avoiding animal products doesn’t have to mean missing out on protein. 

Whether you’re on the go or trying to refuel quickly after a workout, you can choose from a variety of plant-based protein powders. 

Vegan protein powders can help supply your body with the essential amino acids it needs to support protein synthesis in your body, including that needed for muscle repair and growth. 

Grains, legumes and seeds are typical sources of plant protein in powders, which are made by removing most of the fat and carbs to isolate the protein found in these foods to make protein-rich powders. Common vegan protein powders are pea, hemp, brown rice and soy.  

Pea Protein  

Pea protein powder is especially popular among vegetarians, vegans and people with allergies or sensitivities to dairy or eggs. It's made from the yellow split pea, a high-fiber legume that boasts all but one of the essential amino acids.  

A quarter-cup (28-gram) serving of unflavored pea protein powder packs about 21 grams of protein and 100 calories. However, like other legumes, it’s low in the essential amino acid methionine. 

However, pea protein is especially rich in the essential branched-chain amino acids (BCAAs) leucine, isoleucine and valine, which help fuel working muscles and stimulate your body to make muscle protein. 

  • High-quality protein source 
  • Source of essential BCAA  
  • Rich in Iron 
  • Suits any Diets 
  • Pea protein powder is naturally vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free and does not contain any of the top eight food allergens — peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish, shellfish, cow’s milk, wheat and soy  
  • Easily Digested